Electoral Amendment Bill: Lawan constitutes Conference Committee

Electoral Amendment Bill: Lawan constitutes Conference Committee

Dr. Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan, Senate President, has formed a Conference Committee for the 2021 Electoral Act Amendment Bill, which was signed into law a few weeks before MPs left for their two-month annual recess.

Lawan holds conference meeting over electoral

The bill’s upper and lower legislative chambers passed different versions, necessitating a harmonisation before it could be sent to President Buhari for signature.

Senator Abdulahi Yahaya, the Senate leader, is the Chairman of the Committee, which was formed on Wednesday.

Sen.Kabiru Gaya, Sen.Uche Ekwunife, Sen. Danjuma, Sen.Mathew Urhoghide, Sen.Surajudeen Basiru, and Sen.Sani Musa are the other members of the Committee.

Each Senator represents a different geographical region.

Read Also: IPOB sit-at-home: No Candidate Missed Exam – WAEC

The bill was signed into law by the Senate on July 15 amid controversy over section 52 of the bill, according to the Metro Times.

The modified article 52(3), which needs the Nigeria Communications Commission’s approval on the adequacy of the network to determine electronic voting, has sparked debate in both the upper and lower legislative chambers.

Leave a Reply