Oyo Congress: APC disqualifies aspirants over age discrepancies

APC: Osun caucus releases its own timetable for exercise

The screening committee established to assess applicants vying to join the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Oyo State’s State Executive has dismissed all aspirants for the position of State Assistant Youth Leader.

This information was revealed by the committee on Wednesday.

The APC State Congress has been scheduled for this Saturday, according to the DAILY POST.

The congress was supposed to take place last Saturday, but it was canceled due to alleged irregularities.

However, the screening committee has stated that certain candidates have been excluded.

The committee also disqualified four of the five candidates who applied for the role of Senatorial Youth Leader.

The hopefuls were disqualified because they were determined to be over-aged, according to the statement.

In a statement issued by its Secretary, Afeez Bolaji Repete, the committee disclosed that the majority of party members interested in Youth Leadership roles have reached the age band of 18 to 35 years stipulated in the party’s constitution.

“All contenders eyeing the post of State Assistant Youth Leader were discovered to be over-aged,” Repete added, “and four out of the five who attempted to vie for Senatorial Youth Leader position were determined to be over-aged.”

“At the conclusion of the screening process, we discovered that the majority of party members vying for Youth Leadership positions across the board had exceeded the age band of 18 to 35 years set forth in our great Party’s Constitution, and they were summarily rejected.”

Read Also: Why Tuchel wouldn’t bother about Timo Werner’s injury – Joe Cole

“All aspirants who disobeyed the party’s leadership under the State’s Zoning system and sought offices outside their geopolitical zones are also disqualified.”

“It may also be of interest to the public to know that four distinguished members of the party from Oke-Ogun Zone 1 voiced their ambition to become the next State Chairman, and they all performed admirably during the screening process. Mr. Dele Akinleye (Itesiwaju), Engr. Abolade Yekeen Akanni (Iseyin), and Mr. Isaac Ajiboye Omodewu (Itesiwaju)”.

Leave a Reply