Senate confirms EFCC board members Metro Times Nigeria —

Senate confirms EFCC board members

On Tuesday, the Nigerian Senate approved a recommendation by its Committee on Anti-Corruption and Financial Crimes for the confirmation of nominees to the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission’s board of directors (EFCC).

Senators who contributed praised the Committee for the discreet investigation of the nominees after the report was read by the Committee Chairman, Senator Suleiman Abdu Kwari, who also represented Kaduna North Senatorial District.

Senator Jibrin Barau stated his support for the report, stating that none of the nominees were involved in any scandal.

Before the open debate, the Committee’s Chairman stated that the nominees made themselves available and were thoroughly scrutinized in accordance with the Committee’s mandate, while urging Senators to support the nominees.

He requested that the Senate receive and examine the Committee on Anti-Corruption and Financial Crimes’ report on the nominees’ confirmation.

Following comments on the necessity for the EFCC to have a board in place to boost the agency’s actions, Deputy Senate President Ovie Omo-Agege called for a vote on the report, which was passed.

The nominations of the following people have been confirmed.

Read Also: BREAKING: Buhari to appear before NASS on Thursday

1. George Abang Ekungu – Secretary of the Commission
2. Luqman Muhammed – Board member
3. Anumba Adaeze – Board member
4. Alhaji Kola Raheem Adesina – Board member
5. Alhaji Yahaya Muhammad – Board member.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: