Home NEWS Delegation of US President Biden traveling to Nigeria for Tinubu’s inauguration

Delegation of US President Biden traveling to Nigeria for Tinubu’s inauguration


A nine-person US delegation led by Vice President Joe Biden has arrived in Abuja for Bola Tinubu’s inauguration as President-elect of Nigeria.
The team arrived in Nigeria on Sunday and was greeted by the American mission there.

Greetings from Nigeria! Around 5 p.m. on Sunday, the U.S. Mission tweeted on its official account, “We are eager to receive the delegation from @POTUS Biden, led by @SecFudge from the Department of Housing and Urban Development, as they join us in Abuja for the inauguration of President-Elect Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

See also  According to a man testifying in court, "I Will Not Grant My Wife Divorce Until She Swears Before My Village Deity That She Was Not Unfaithful."

The nine-member delegation to Tinubu’s inauguration, scheduled for Monday, May 29, 2023, had been named by U.S. President Joe Biden.

As a result of a presidential election on February 25 that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) deemed to be highly tainted, Tinubu is still up against fierce opposition at the Presidential election tribunal.

The US’s allegedly biased view on the contentious election has already drawn criticism from the Labour Party and the Peoples Democratic Party, particularly after US Secretary of State Antony Blinken recently called Tinubu on the phone.

See also  Murderous Pickpockets Steal Tricycle and Take the Life of a 23-Year-Old Rider

Past presidents, diplomats, leaders of international organizations, well-known Nigerians, and representatives of foreign governments and agencies are also anticipated at the nation’s seventh transition ceremony.

Marcia L. Fudge, secretary of the US Department of Housing and Urban Development, will serve as the delegation’s leader.

The U.S. Embassy in Abuja’s Chargé d’Affaires, Mr. David Greene, is another member of the Presidential Delegation.

General Michael E. Langley, Commander of U.S. Africa Command, The Honorable Sydney Kamlager-Dove, United States Representative (D), California; The Honorable Marisa Lago, Under Secretary of Commerce for International Trade, U.S. Department of Commerce; The Honorable Enoh T. Ebong, Director, U.S. Trade and Development Agency.

See also  Terrorists kidnap APC Women Leaders After Inauguration, Hours Later

Others include The Honorable Monde Muyangwa, Assistant Administrator for the Bureau for Africa, U.S. Agency for International Development, The Honorable Judd Devermont, Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director for African Affairs, National Security Council, and The Honorable Mary Catherine Phee, Assistant Secretary of State for the Bureau of African Affairs, U.S. Department of State.

Click to view additional posts about


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here